Bookbinding and My Homemade Mini Album Kit

IMG_0049

I’ve been on the hunt for all different sorts of mini albums, trying to figure out what’s going to work best for capturing memories for an upcoming dream vacation to Italy. After my Miami Girls’ Trip mini book, A few weeks ago, I saw this lovely blog post and super easy video tutorial on Heidi Swapp’s blog on how to create my own mini album. The blog called this binding method Back-to-Back and I love how it turned out. (Now if only I knew how to take nicer pictures!)

IMG_0048

The spine of the mini album was about .5 inches. I used some 12×12 paper from my Maggie Holmes’ paper pad. I have a tendency to hoard my 12×12 papers – it always seem so wasteful to cut them up for Project life or greeting cards so it was nice to use them in something productive!

Although I buy a lot of supplies with an ivory undertone, for the most part, my projects definitely veer more white than ivory. After some fits and starts trying to figure out what would match, I decided to “shop” my supplies and pull together anything that matched the same colors and tones found in the papers. 
IMG_0052
IMG_0050I really like using this method to establish a color palette for my project. My favorite part was misting the doily with the Mister Huey’s Mint Julep, which looked awesome. Of course – doltish me – I don’t have any pictures from the final product because I made the mini album at a bridal shower. I had all the guests write little notes for the bride-to-be and then printed pictures using my Pogo Polaroid printer. It was fun and cute. I wish I had taken a picture of the cover!

Leave a Reply

