Creating my own stamps – Silhouette Cameo Stamping Material

IMG_5068

A while back, I fell in love with some cards blogger Lisa  made and posted on sideoatsandscribbles.wumple.com. Even though I LOVED the card that inspired the version above, at the time, I decided that I needed to hold off on buying more stamps. I got so caught up in the hype around the Hero Arts Stamp Your Story line earlier this summer that I have tons of stamps I don’t even use right now.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago, I bought some Silhouette America stamp material. After watching a few reviews on YouTube, I created a rectangle and triangle stamp to see if I could use the same techniques. Rather than buying the new dedicated stamp mat, I used the regular cutting mat. I had no problem using the regular mat but if I end up creating more stamps, I might try it out to see if there’s any difference.

photo(25)

The stamps are pretty thin and flimsy. It was hard for me to get ink on the stamp without also getting it on my acrylic block so I ended up having to wipe the block before each time I stamped. Even though I used the Hero Arts shadow inks, which usually fill in missing spots, it was pretty difficult to get a good image and I ended up stamping the same area two or three times – yes – many of the blocks on the card are still spotty after multiple restampings. All in all though, I really like the effect although I’m not sure I’ll be able to successfully use her layering techniques with such flimsy stamp material. The image quality didn’t improve even after I used the arm trick.

Bottom Line
I really like the stamping material. For five dollars, I have enough material for probably 100 stamps. Although the quality isn’t the BEST, the stamping material makes it fun, easy, and more affordable to experiment with new stamping techniques.

4 thoughts on “Creating my own stamps – Silhouette Cameo Stamping Material

  1. Marie F

    I know this is an old post but wanted to drop by with a couple of tips I learned. I love shadow inks, but they aren’t right for this material. Try either pigment inks our versa mark with embossing powder. I got much better results with those!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

