Retirement, Birthday, and Hello Cards

Some weekends I feel like I haven’t created anything all week. Luckily I take lots of craft photos for my blog – this week, I might otherwise have forgotten that I did craft amidst obsessing over the amazing Mint Plus floor mopping robot and The Millionaire Next Door.

The first card I’d like to share is for my co-worker. Her last day before retirement is Friday. I really wanted to use my gold dot vellum paper and designed the card around that bottom strip. The retirement letters took way too long to design and assemble – I don’t know what I was thinking. The envelope I made using the Memory Keepers envelope punch board is awesome though – I never realized how much a homemade envelope can make a card look even more special and fancy!

IMG_4340

IMG_4341

I rounded the pointy tip after seeing this picture. It looks much fancier!

photo(24)

Second up is a birthday card. I made the base of the card months ago in a class on background stamps. I’m not usually a huge fan of this color combination and the embellishment from the class was just way over the top. Luckily, inspiration struck this weekend while organizing my stamps and I decided to just keep it simple. I really like how it turned out. It’ll be perfect for one of my friends whose birthday is this week. 🙂

IMG_4339

Card number three really took a long time to come together. I originally put the patterned paper on this white base last September. It was never quite right – the pattern and original sentiment were clean and bold. I went through a distress everything phase because I ended up distressing an otherwise very clean card. Throwing out a perfectly fine card goes against my crafty ethos but things just didn’t look right. While organizing my scraps today, this green scrap happened to fall on the card. Much better!

IMG_4338

Leave a Reply

