Mother’s Day Cards

I bought the Hero Arts Everything Flower background stamp when it was first released earlier this year. I was a little worried that it would be too similar to my Flower Bursts Pattern stamp but after playing with both quite a bit the last few months, I find they both have added a lot of different things to my cards.

For my Mother’s Day cards this year, I thought it would be fun to challenge myself to use the same background stamp in different ways. To control the growth in my scrap pile, I decided to use up my existing supplies.  This first card really surprised me. I am always surprised at the creative process, especially when I use scraps. For example, I started quickly by embossing the stamp on the lavender card stock but then it took about 30 minutes to piece together the color scheme and colors. Something about the patterns and color combination makes me think of Japanese gift wrapping.

IMG_4016For this next card, I embossed the background stamp in white on top of some water color paper that was transformed using Tim Holtz Distress Ink pads and my craft sheet. (You can learn more about my obsession with this technique here.) The grey-blue cardstock that frames the water color paper is such a beautiful color. Everything really poped against the white.

IMG_4017

I used less conventional Mother’s Day sentiments on these cards because they really fit the notes I wrote inside. I’ve experienced many milestones the last few years and I really wanted to thank the ladies in my life for supporting and loving me all these years. I’m very blessed and grateful.

Leave a Reply

