Hero Arts Shadow Ink Cubes

UPDATE March 24, 2013

I added an additional pic of the ink cube’s ink pad so folks can see it in detail. Hope this helps!

IMG_3425

Apologies in advance for the quality of the pictures – my beloved S100 finally experienced the dreaded recall lens error and is in repair. I just couldn’t resist sharing my love for these great little ink cube packs so I used my cellie’s camera.

I knew I had to get the Hero Arts Shadow Ink Cubes as soon as I saw them in the Hero Arts catalog. I’ve been collecting the large ink pads a few at a time since last September and these cubes are a perfect size to try out new colors, take up very little space, and are a perfect size for all my Project Life mini image and word stamps.

The packs were not available from Hero Arts’ online shop earlier this month. My LSS put the order in right before CHA 2013 and I didn’t get them until this past Wednesday, but they are totally worth the wait!

Shadow Ink Cubes

These 8 are from the AF 239 “Just Beachy” and AF240 “Field Notes” packs. They’re super juicy and although I have some duplicates (Pool, Green Hills, and Wet Cement) I find these super easy to use and very convenient. They’re very similar to the Versamark cubes in shape and size, although I prefer the nothced top of the Versamark cubes, which better enable stacking. That said, these came in very handy plastic packaging which is perfect for a crop.

IMG_20130125_041608

I also picked up the Neon package. I’ve never used neon in my crafts before and I probably would never have invested in the full-sized neons. But  this the AF 241 Neon Pack is a the perfect sampler. I also picked up a large Neon yellow.

IMG_20130125_041545

I started creating a reference page so I could compare these colors to my Stampin Up pads. I’m not sure if anyone else has experienced this, but I think my Stampin Up pads (which are all the new ones reformulated in 2012) have similar qualities to the Hero Arts Inks – they both go on darker, dry lighter, and seem to magically fill in solid images. After playing with both the last few weeks, I love both and now have more than enough ink pads to last me a lifetime… right after I get the Bubble Gum and Raspberry Jam shadow inks. 🙂 TTFN

Leave a Reply

