Mini Books are awesome

We adopted our dog Domo about a month ago from a relative. He’s brought so much joy to our lives that I wanted to find a meaningful way to thank them.

Enter Amy Tangerine’s mini book. I bought the “Hug Life” book. I’m new to all this so I’m not entirely sure but the mini book seems designed as an easy base for embellishments, photos, and journaling. The papers inside all have different weights which I have begun to pay attention to because my Hero Arts shadow inks definitely sink into paper. Though I wouldn’t expect the shadow inks to provide the crispness of Stazon or Versamark, the edges of the stamps using the shadow ink were very fuzzy and indistinct. Some of the pages were a little crinkled, particularly the scalloped half square and the yellow graph paper with a typewriter, but I think it just adds to the whole aesthetic.

I’ve seen these on the shelves at Joann’s for months now and didn’t think much of the format. But after getting some 8.5×11 scrapbooking experience under my belt, the mini book seemed the cutest and most achievable way for me to show that we appreciate and love Domo dearly. I love this book so much I want one for myself now. I guess I’ll just have to settle for pictures and the real thing :).

Lots of pictures below.

The caption on the second to last page references my 2012 vision board (not 2011 – I corrected it). Essentially, in January of this year, I chose pictures to reflect an aspiration for more warmth, innocence, and nesting. I put pictures of dogs on my board never thinking that we’d actually adopt a dog. Yet… here we are. The power of intention is mysterious and strong. Thank you universe.

Leave a Reply

