Distress Ink Makes Everything Better

Prior to last week, I had one Tim Holtz distress pad in tea dye that I’d lazily try and then give up on.  I bought it because my sister used them on cards, but because I never looked up the technique, every time I tried using it myself, it looked like a disaster. I even bought a distresser tool to help me – even though it helped me create aged and ragged edges, I couldn’t get the ink to look right.

My experience with the inks changed completely after I bought the Tim Holtz ink blending tool. Using the inks adds so much dimension and life to my projects, I’m probably going way over board with them now. But other than cards with a really graphic quality, right now, I feel like every project can benefit from some distress ink. Taking advantage of Joanne’s 40% all scrapbook stuff the last few weeks, I’ve managed to get myself 6 more colors. The technique seems to vary slightly depending on the paper you use. Tutorials like this one have been uber helpful in helping me tailor my technique to the right paper weights and textures.

I got a felt tip applicator before I discovered the foams. For me, foams seem to be more efficient at applying ink to edges.

I’m still learning how to tear paper for the right aged look – in the interim, this tool has been very useful.

Scrapbook page that I used the Silhouette to “draw” on without distress ink.

My application on this page is a little rough because the paper is from a “distress ink” paper pack and it was a LOT more absorbent than my other scrapbook paper. But I still think it makes the page look so much cooler.

A completed scrapbook page using the distress ink – I’m getting better at application. It would have looked so different without the ink.

My favorite application so far. I also love how mindful I need to be to achieve the right look with the pads – makes me feel like I’m striving for the perfect imperfection of wabi-sabi. I used a Sakura Pentel Souffle pen in Amy Chomas’ silhouette pen holder to create the grey drawing.

One thought on “Distress Ink Makes Everything Better

  1. Carol

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined
    your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

